Machine Builders Network+
Posted By: smithcreek motor selection - 12/07/2020 04:01 AM
hello to all, this will be my first post.
I am planning to build a ring roller and possibly later a pipe and tube roller and since I have no knowledge of low rpm motors I am hoping some of you folks may be able to get me on the right track. I have seen via the internet hf rollers driven by a pony threader but I would prefer to use something that is not so long. from the very little that I have found I think maybe a gear head motor but I don't know what would be my best bet. I would want it to be single phase and reversible and preferably 115v but 220v wouldn't be much of a problem, I have plenty of room in my panel I would just prefer to use a extension cord for convenience.

Thanks In advance.

creek.
Posted By: GatorS Re: motor selection - 12/07/2020 04:38 AM
I'd plan on a motor connected to a gearbox, you could direct drive it and just get the ratio that you wanted to output whatever the rpm you need is. You could also belt feed with different pulley diameters to get the ratio you need.

You can get 120 motors that will start with just a switch, 1-2 hp usually.
Posted By: sonny Re: motor selection - 12/07/2020 04:50 AM
I agree with Gator ----- gearbox and pulleys or chain drive would be simple and compact.
Posted By: bunkclimber Re: motor selection - 12/07/2020 03:16 PM